Building Drought Resilience through Land and Water Management

This was a multi-year project (2012-2017) funded by IUCN Eastern and Southern Africa Regional Office (ESARO). The project focused on the Lower Tana sub-catchment: Garissa and Tana River Counties.  The project’s overall objective was improving resilience of dryland communities within catchment to the impacts of increasingly severe and frequent drought. This was achieved through strengthened ecosystem management and adaptive capacity.

The project contributed to improving ecosystems management in the area by promoting effectively and sustainable use through coordination of local and formal institutions that are supported by an enabling positive policy environment.

The areas of project focus are initially 4 broad areas classified by WRMA as being in the 4GC and the 4GB management units in the Lower Tana sub-catchment, as follows:

  1. Khorweyne Sub-catchment in Balambala District (in 4GC) in Garissa County – which stretches from Danyere to Saka. There is already a WRUA in this area and WRMA with IUCN support has facilitated the development of a sub-catchment management plan (SCMP) for this area.
  2. Al-Amin Moju Sub-Catchment (in 4GB) in Tana River County which is in the location of Kamaguru and stretches from Oduwame, Roka, Balambala and Bangale. Similarly, the area has a WRUA and IUCN has supported the development of a SCMP.
  3. Saka Sub-Catchment in Balambala District (in 4GC) in Garissa County – IUCN through its previous project supported its establishment and the WRUA is currently registered. WRUA in collaboration with IUCN and implementing partners has prepared adapted SCMP.
  1. Tula Sub-Catchment: Area from Odowani to Balambala to Roka to Karati to Tula (in 4GB) – IUCN through its previous project supported the establishment of a WRUA for this area and adapted SCMP has been developed.

For more information about the project, please follow the link below.